All new (old) music, all the time

Looking back over the two decades plus since I first started listening to metal, it’s interesting to see how my methods of discovering new bands and albums has changed over time.

My sister introduced me to metal (Iron Maiden, Metallica, Megadeth, Judas Priest) via her A-Level Chemistry classmates, then friends I made at school recommended other bands (Anthrax, Slayer). Next was reading magazine reviews in Kerrang! (Carcass, Sepultura and Entombed) and Terrorizer (Death, Morbid Angel, Dissection, My Dying Bride) and watching music videos on Headbanger’s Ball (Type O Negative, Paradise Lost, Corrosion of Conformity, Kreator) and Noisy Mothers (Strapping Young Lad), and then new friends at university made more recommendations (Vader, Meshuggah, Gorguts, Anata).

At some point the Internet became a thing, and so I turned to metal review sites such as Digital Metal (now defunct – all hail the Wayback Machine) and Metal Review (now Last Rites); more recently places like From the Dust Returned, No Clean Singing, Angry Metal Guy, Teeth of the Divine and Sputnikmusic.

If you were thinking that those sites provide more than enough metal to be getting on with each year, you’d be absolutely right, and yet I find myself still hunting down more new music, specifically albums that I might have missed due to ignorance or a lack of interest at the time.

So, here are five albums that I’ve only “discovered” in the last few years thanks to Autothrall or Angry Metal Guy. I left out albums if I was already familiar with a particular band and already owned another album by that band (so Samael’s Ceremony of Opposites didn’t make the cut since I already own Passage, but I gave Tiamat a pass because I was familiar with them, despite not buying an album) and tried to cover a variety of genres. Some of these choices are obscure whilst some are heralded classics that I never got on with when they first came to my attention. Sometimes you just need someone to badger you about a band/album before the recommendation eventually takes hold.

 

Artillery – By Inheritance (1989)

Technical thrash of the highest calibre, combining headbanging riffs with a distinctive sound that is tinged with Eastern melodies. The wailing vocals let down the music in my opinion, but the music compensates more than enough. Thrash to me is signified by rhythmic acrobatics and shredding solos, so 1:03 of “Khomaniac” gets me every time, along with the intro to “Beneath the Clay (R.I.P.)”, the intro lead to “Bombfood” and indeed all of the leads and solos. If “Khomaniac” doesn’t get you headbanging, then nothing will.


 

Powermad – Absolute Power (1989)

If you’ve seen David Lynch’s Wild at Heart, you might recognise the first track “Slaughterhouse” as it’s the song that plays in the club scene at the start of the film and it’s on the soundtrack. I remember liking the track a lot but mainly for the great build-up at the start and didn’t go any further than that. Angry Metal Guy did a retrospective review and it turns out that Autothrall rated it pretty highly too which was all the prompting I needed. I had a listen and it’s an absolute corker – a solid thrash foundation with excellent melodies, harmonies and leads, a bit like Megadeth but without a rubbish douchebag vocalist.


 

Tiamat – Wildhoney (1994)

To give you an idea, Grymm at Angry Metal Guy described the album as being dark metal akin to The Gathering, Moonspell and Samael. I remember hearing a radio edit of this song, either as a video or on a Terrorizer cover CD and liking it a lot but feeling that it wasn’t heavy enough (which is what I thought about The Gathering, even though I loved Moonspell’s Irreligious and Samael’s Passage at the time. Go figure. I’ve since grown to love The Gathering). My tastes have since changed – one might even say “matured” – and now I think that the whole album is beautiful. Tasteful synths add atmosphere, the infrequent leads add colour without dominating the song and there is a great balance between the heavy distorted guitars and acoustic guitar sections. Each song flows into the next with motifs passed on, leading to an ensemble that makes for a superb album.


 

Unmoored – Indefinite Soul-Extension (2003)

In spite of his contribution to a ridiculous number of metal bands, Christian Ävestam is almost always cited as being the ex-vocalist of another decent but far less interesting band. I would prefer it if he were known for his original and best band, Unmoored, where he first combined “high and low growls, with clean vocals”. The band’s third album is progressive death metal, which means it falls into that awkward sub-genre all bands are dumped in when they feature clean guitars and clean vocals in addition to the standard death metal. I described the band to a like-minded colleague as being akin to At the Gates but with more brutality (the grinding palm-muted chords in “Commit to the Fire”), blasting (the opening track “Unspeakable Grief”), clean vocals (dotted throughout, but last track “Final State Part III [Posthumous Writings]” is sung entirely clean) and synths (“Spit Forth from Failure”). Hmmm. So not much like At the Gates at all…

In amongst the riffage, a point that I’d like to highlight is how smoothly the band transitions between different riff and vocal styles, as that is something which many progressive death metal bands try and fail at doing well. For more coherent thoughts on the album, Autothrall enthused about it a great deal.


 

Funeral – From These Wounds (2006)

I picked up this album on the strength another Angry Metal Guy retrospective review and listening to some tracks on YouTube. Vocals are an airy melodic croon for the most part, with occasional low-register Pete Steele-esque baritone moments in songs like “Red Moon”. Keyboards are scattered throughout each song, and there are strong dynamic shifts conveyed through riff style – “softer” sections are conveyed by strummed chord progressions whilst the heavy moments are signified by palm-muted chords. It’s slow and mournful music to listen to, and has a definite Type O Negative and My Dying Bride vibe to it. It’s more dark than doom to these ears, but have a listen and decide for yourself.


 

Leave a Reply

